End Google Tag Manager (noscript) -->
USA +1 866 806 2068 | UK +44 203 1292 513 | JAPAN +81 3 45208991 担当:萩原 info@openlm.com

Application Note 2041: The OpenLM Database Cleanup tool

OpenLM has received customer’s requests to have the ability to delete items from the OpenLM database. This request stemmed from a variety of motivations:

  • Sometimes users get introduced into the OpenLM database by mistake. This may culminate to an annoying amount of users which makes browsing EasyAdmin uneasy.

  • Users and groups are dynamic within the organization’s active directory. They may become obsolete and irrelevant.

  • Old historical information may be discarded according to the organization’s policy.

The Cleanup manager

This capability has been added in OpenLM version 1.8. In order to activate this cleanup utility, click the EasyAdmin ‘Start’ button, select ‘Administration’ and “Cleanup manager”.

Select either one of the three cleanup methods (as elaborated below), give the current cleanup configuration a name and a description, and click the ‘Run’ icon.

It is possible to observe the progress of the cleanup process by clicking the  “Show Cleanup monitor”. This will open the monitor window:

User cleanup

OpenLM enables administrators to permanently delete the user pool. Deleted users are marked so that they do not get re-introduced by periodic OpenLM LDAP synchronization. See this document for more information:

Application Note 2029_b: LDAP (Active Directory) Synchronization. Comprehensive guide v1.8

Cleared users will be reintroduced when they check out monitored licenses.

USERS’ DATABASE LINKAGE:

Users’ linkage to other OpenLM database tables is also deleted as follows:

  • Roles and permissions

  • Users’ group membership

  • Reservation of licenses after being denied.

  • User settings (EasyAdmin layout, Report windows’ filters)

  • Users’ projects membership

  • LDAP synchronization entities

USERS WHO WILL NOT BE DELETED

Generally speaking, users who have records of historical license usage or denials will not be deleted by the Users deletion option. This specifically relates to the following records:

  • Users who have checked out or borrowed a license either during or prior to applying the cleanup tool

  • Users who had been reported active or denied a license in the license manager’s debug log by the OpenLM Broker.

  • Users who at the time of applying the cleanup were running an OpenLM session (OpenLM server configuration or EasyAdmin web application), for which a login was required.

  • Users who at the time of applying the cleanup were referred to by the OpenLM Agent

  • Users who have configured the “Feature usage report” window in EasyAdmin.

  • The default “GeneralUser” user will not be deleted.

Groups Cleanup

OpenLM enables administrators to permanently delete the groups in the OpenLM database

GROUPS’ DATABASE LINKAGE:

 

Groups’ linkage to other OpenLM database tables is also deleted as follows:

  • Roles and permissions

  • Group’s computers

  • Group’s projects membership

  • Member users

  • LDAP synchronization entities

GROUPS WHICH WILL NOT BE DELETED:

  • Groups which have checked out a license either during or prior to applying the cleanup tool

  • Groups and host groups which have been declared on FlexLM  Options files.

  • The default “OpenLM_Everyone” and “OpenLM Groups” groups will not be deleted.

History cleanup

History cleanup would delete historical entries according to the time period configuration, from the following database tables

  • License Usage information according to Hours, Weeks and Months

  • Logging of application closure

  • License denials

  • License idle time per session.