USA +1 866 806 2068 | UK +44 203 1292 513 | JAPAN +81 3 45208991 担当:萩原 info@openlm.com

Database Cleanup tool – AN4041

OpenLM has received customer’s requests to have the ability to delete items from the OpenLM database. This request stemmed from a variety of motivations:

  • Users were introduced into the OpenLM database by mistake. This may culminate to an inconvenient number of users which makes browsing EasyAdmin uneasy.

  • Users and groups are dynamic within the organization’s active directory. They may become obsolete and irrelevant.

  • Old historical information may be discarded according to the organization’s policy.

Back up your Database

It is imperative to stop the OpenLM Server service, and back up the database prior to the actions described in this Application note.

The Database cleanup process is final, and there will be no possibility to retrieve the erased data.

The Cleanup Manager

In order to activate this cleanup utility, click the EasyAdmin Start button, select Administration and Cleanup Manager. (Start →Administration → Cleanup Manager)

 z1

Select one of the three cleanup methods (History, Groups or Users), provide the cleanup configuration a Title and a Description. Click Run.

It is possible to observe the progress of the cleanup process by clicking Show Cleanup Monitor. This will open the monitor window:

z2

History cleanup

History cleanup would delete historical entries according to the time period configuration, from the following database tables

  • License Usage information according to Hours, Weeks and Months

  • Logging of application closure

  • License denials

  • License idle time per session.

Groups Cleanup

OpenLM enables administrators to permanently delete the groups in the OpenLM database

Groups Database Linkage:

Groups’ linkage to other OpenLM database tables is also deleted as follows:

  • Roles and permissions

  • Group’s computers

  • Group’s projects membership

  • Member users

  • LDAP synchronization entities

Groups which will NOT be deleted:

  • Groups which have checked out a license either during or prior to applying the cleanup tool

  • Groups and host groups which have been declared on FLEXlm  Options files.

  • The default OpenLM_Everyone and OpenLM Groups groups will not be deleted.

 

User cleanup

OpenLM enables administrators to permanently delete the user pool. Deleted users are marked so that they do not get re-introduced by periodic OpenLM LDAP synchronization. See this document for more information:

LDAP (Active Directory) Synchronization: Comprehensive Guide – AN3029b

Cleared users will be reintroduced when they check out monitored licenses.

Users Database Linkage:

Users’ linkage to other OpenLM database tables is also deleted as follows:

  • Roles and permissions

  • Users’ group membership

  • Reservation of licenses after being denied.

  • User settings (EasyAdmin layout, Report windows’ filters)

  • Users’ projects membership

  • LDAP synchronization entities

Users who will not be deleted

Generally speaking, users who have records of historical license usage or denials will not be deleted by the Users deletion option. This specifically relates to the following records:

  • Users who have checked out or borrowed a license either during or prior to applying the cleanup tool

  • Users who had been reported active or denied a license in the license manager’s debug log by the OpenLM Broker.

  • Users who at the time of applying the cleanup were running an OpenLM session (OpenLM server configuration or EasyAdmin web application), for which a login was required.

  • Users who at the time of applying the cleanup were referred to by the OpenLM Agent

  • Users who have configured the Feature Usage Report window in EasyAdmin.

  • The default GeneralUser user will not be deleted.